Lucas Lourens awarded EGU Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal

The European Geosciences Union has honoured NESSC-colleague Prof. Lucas Lourens, head of the Stratigrafy and Paleontology group at Utrecht University, with the Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal. He received the award for his exceptional scientific contribution to research in Paleoclimatology.

Lucas Lourens is Professor of Paleoclimatology, and his research is focused on investigating the influence and evolution of astronomically-forced climate changes during the Greenhouse and Icehouse Worlds of the Cenozoic.

The European Geosciences Union has awarded the Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal since 2006. Lourens will be presented with the award in Vienna next April.

More on the awards: