Louis Agassiz Medal for Prof. Michiel van den Broeke

The European Geosciences Union has honoured Prof. Michiel van den Broeke from the Department of Physics and Astronomy’s Institute for Marine and Atmospheric research Utrecht (IMAU) with the Louis Agassiz Medal. He received the award for his exceptional scientific contribution to research into the cryosphere, the region where water occurs in the form of snow, permafrost, pack ice or glaciers.

Michiel van den Broeke is Professor of Polar Meteorology, and his research focuses on studying, reconstructing and predicting the climate and the mass balance of the large ice caps in Greenland and Antarctica.

The European Geosciences Union has awarded the Louis Agassiz Medal since 2005. Professor Van den Broeke is not the first winner from the IMAU: in 2008, Utrecht University Professor Hans Oerlemans was also presented with the award. Van den Broeke will be presented with the award in Vienna next April.

Source: IMAU