Constraining climate sensitivity from various lines of evidence

We invite you to present your research in the session on “Constraining climate sensitivity from various lines of evidence” at the European Geosciences Union (EGU) General Assembly 2018, 8-13 April 2018, in Vienna, Austria.

IE2.8 Constraining climate sensitivity from various lines of evidence (co-organized)

Convener: Anna von der Heydt
Co-conveners: Michel Crucifix, Julia Hargreaves, Valerio Lucarini, Steven Sherwood, Masahiro Watanabe and Mark Webb

Over the last decade considerable progress has been made in understanding and defining climate sensitivity, a quantity that is extensively used to quantify the impact of increasing atmospheric CO2-concentrations on the global mean temperature. Nevertheless, the uncertainty in climate sensitivity remains high. The climate system, however, shows variability on many time scales, is subject to non-stationary forcing and is mostly out of equilibrium with the changes in radiative forcing, which makes it a real challenge to quantify and predict the future evolution of climate. Currently, an assessment of climate sensitivity is ongoing within the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) aiming at combining as many lines of evidence as possible to constrain the uncertainty in climate sensitivity.

We welcome contributions that investigate specific feedbacks and their impact on climate sensitivity in all components of the climate system as well as combinations of different lines of evidence. More general approaches to quantifying the (statistical distribution of the) climate response to non-stationary forcing in the climate system are encouraged.

Full session details: <>

Abstract submission: <>

The session is an interdisciplinary event, and part of the programme group IE2 “from palaeo-timescales to future projections”, and co-organized with the programme groups CL, AS, NP, BG and OS.

Deadline for abstract submission is 10 January 2018, 1PM CET. If you would like to apply for travel support, please submit your abstract no later than 1 December 2017.